Chrysoroyiatissa - Religious Tours

The Chrysoroyiatissa Monastery located near Paphos, at an altitude of 610 metres, was founded in the 1152 AD by a monk called Ignatius who found an icon of the Virgin Mary at Moula, near Paphos and installed it in a monastery and dedicated it to Virgin Mary or the Cypriot 'Our Lady of the Golden Pomegranate'. This icon is thought to be painted by Luke the Evangelist. Inside the monastery there is a variety of religious icons and treasures on display. The statue that attracts the most attention is of Virgin Mary, made of pure silver. On 15th August, a celebration is held in honour of 'Virgin Mary' as it is believed that on this day she did not wake up after she slept. The word death is not used, as 'Our Lady of the Golden Pomegranate' is believed to be in deep sleep, but her other senses and organs, like her heart and brain are still working. This famous church is frequented by those who wish to have a wealthy family and possess great material wealth in their lives.

  • The church lies in the middle of the monastery and has impressive frescoes on display. It is on the itinerary of VIP Tours as a religious tour.
  • The existing building dates back only to circa 1770.
  • The monastery adjoins Stroumpi village, in the Paphos Distict and has been variously reported to be at 820 m (2,700 ft) above sea level. It contributes greatly to tourism in Cyprus.
  • The monastery is named after the icon of the Virgin which offers gold milk golden berries and it is called Chrysogalaktousa or Chrysorroyiatissa. Perhaps puritanical prudishness has prevailed, so that it is called a golden pomegranate, or because it is built on a mountain named Rogia.
  • Legend has it that the picture was thrown into the sea in Cilicia, by a pious woman during the iconoclastic period (711-843 AD) to save it from destruction, and the waves brought it into the harbour of the village Acheleia, now known as Moulia, in Paphos, where it lay in a small cave for 400 years. That background makes it a place to see in Cyprus, a part of Cyprus’ history.
  • In mid-August 1152, the ascetic Ignatius, driven by a great light, took the icon and moved it to his hermitage Kremasti in the mountains, before installing it in a monastery.
  • It lies 1.5 km from the village of Panayia, birthplace of the late Archbishop Makarios. This is another reason why most excursions in Cyprus come here.
  • It lays dubious claim to fame as the best wine producing monastery in Cyprus.

Private car with driver for 3 hours
120 euro

Additional hour
25 euro

Cost based on 2-4 Person

Private minibus with driver for 3 hours
220 euro

Additional hour
35 euro

Cost based on 5-8 Person

Book This Tour Now